Looking Back

Years ago

when I was a beginning driver 

I drove on the LA freeway

(of necessity, not choice). 

All the caution

 I had learned in drivers’ ed

sailed out the window

at what seemed like

100 miles per hour

because I quickly discovered 

that the only safety 

was to keep up 

with traffic flow and

don’t look back. 

(The only part of me

clenched tighter 

than my hands on the steering wheel

was my stomach.)

Sometimes it’s like that

off the road, too. 

You simply hang on

bravely put pedal to metal

and

don’t look back. 

One thought on “Looking Back

Leave a Reply

