Blessed Assurance (from inside the Alps)

    

Germans said

this weather was unusual  for mid-summer.

Days passed

before

I caught a glimpse

of lush green-carpeted rolling 

foothills,

prelude to

craggy Alps.

Not seeing,

I wondered about the

reality.

And then,

a little adventure 

happened.

By bus

tram and train

I arrived at the summit

of Mt. Wendelstein 

only to have

my head in the clouds

a thick shroud

obscuring

all below.

A cold curtain of 

drizzling mist

leaked down 

our necks

and so

we went

from the 

summit

to the 

Hoehle (cave)

and into

the very stone.

Now, 

with my own hands

I could touch

what I hoped to

Believe.

I hope

to 

Believe.

One thought on “Blessed Assurance (from inside the Alps)

Leave a Reply

