Journey



The seven last days

of the Lenten journey

begin today.

The day after Ash Wednesday

I decided that the inward journey

would be best served 

by my commitment to write 

a daily poem.

That practice is sometimes 

a chore I need to get to;

but it is more often

a welcome space to 

pause, to see,

to play with words;

to let my thinking

bend as

the poem unfolds.

It is a chance to 

put out into the world

in a small way

something I enjoyed 

creating.

Did I get compulsive

about getting the poem written?

Yes, I skittered on the edge

of that,

but did not fall into

the perfectionist chasm.

I missed two days,

unintentionally

but for 

good 

measure.

This was not a painful journey.

It was a journey

inward and outward.

Leave a Reply

